2017-18 Schedule

The SBMRL has announced the provisional calendar for the 2017-18 season, although league offices have said that some circuits have not yet signed off on the paperwork.

According to the released schedule, three tracks from last year return.  Monaco, Austin, and Interlagos have all been confirmed for this year.  Austin will host the October race while Monaco retains the December slot.  Those two tracks will be the only ones to have hosted three SBMRL races.  Interlagos returns in the same month, January, that it hosted last year.  The other track to get a second SBMRL race is Buddh in India, which is back on the calendar after a one year hiatus, this time in February.

New circuits to the SBMRL include Suzuka, Melbourne, Shanghai, and Portland.  The latter of which will host the season opener in September.  SBMRL fans appear to be most excited for a chance to explore Suzuka, with its unique figure-8 layout.

The one race that has not been finalized is the season ending race in May.  Despite upheaval in the standings in last year’s final race, the race itself was marred by retirements and relatively little drama near the end.  As a result, the SBMRL is in talks with Barcelona, a move that would keep the season finale in Spain.  However, rumors suggest that other European tracks are eager to get in on the action, with Silverstone and Zandvoort as potential spoilers.

2017-18 Schedule*

September 16: Portland, USA
October 21: Austin, USA
November 18: Suzuka, Japan
December 16: Monte Carlo, Monaco
January 20: Interlagos, Brazil
February 17: Buddh, India
March 17: Melbourne, Australia
April 21: Shanghai, China
May 19: Barcelona, Spain^

* Exact dates subject to change
^ To be confirmed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *