2019-20 Schedule

The SBMRL is about to enter its 5th season of racing and is now ready to release the schedule for the coming year. As was the case for the past few seasons, the league will run a 9 month schedule with one race per month.

Despite the late confirmation of the full schedule, teams have known for some time that the opening race would be held in Japan at Suzuka. October is always Austin, and that doesn’t change this year. The first new race on the calendar takes place in November, under the lights in Bahrain.

December asks the question of whether or not the Stig can continue his dominance in Monaco. Will he be able to take home a 4th victory in 5 tries there? The league has to then fly all the way to the west coast of the United States to race in Monterrey, only to have to turn around and fly back to Southern Europe for Monza. That’s not the most logical order from a logistical standpoint.

March sees the SBMRL run up against Formula 1’s season opening race in Melbourne. Staying in the Far East, they head north to China to race at Zhuhai. Finally, the season finale takes a departure from Spain, where all 4 final races were held in the past, and instead moves to the Netherlands to race Zandvoort. There is still an open question about what track configuration that final race will feature, as the circuit can be functionally divided in half, or the track can be run in full.

With 5 tracks on the calendar that are entirely new to the SBMRL this year, it should be make for an extremely interesting season.

2019-20 SCHEDULE*

September 21: Suzuka, Japan
October 19: Austin, USA
November 16: Bahrain
December 14: Monaco
January 18: Laguna Seca/Monterey, USA
February 15: Monza, Italy
March 21: Melbourne, Australia
April 18: Zhuhai, China
May 9: Zandvoort, The Netherlands

*Exact dates subject to change

One response to “2019-20 Schedule

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *